Why Women, Why now?

Crystal Perry

Reading in the news almost everyday about another victim of violent crime is why I started this blog. 

As a female firearms instructor I feel it my duty to reach out to other women who are the targeted demographic of criminals, in fact, 1 in every 6 women will be a victim of a sexual crime in their life time and college aged women are 4 times as likely to be a victim. (For more info and statistics go to http://www.rainn.org/statistics

 This concerns me, as I am a college aged women I walk the grounds of my campus, seeing beautiful women pass me everyday.  I think, they should  never have to face the ugliness of violent crime and I have the knowledge to help them stop such incidents.  

I had to do something, to get that information to the masses so that women could have an advantage and not have to fear. My goal is not  just to give women the reassurances that the police will catch the person who has already committed such a crime but to give them the tools to stop violent crime before it starts through passive self-defense, training and to equalize a situation with knowledge, skill and weapons that give women the advantage in maintaining their lives, virtue and power.

This is not to diminish the work of the wonderful people in law enforcement or the criminal justice system who find these criminals and detain them but I believe there is a better way, and that is prevention.   By the time that criminals are sent to jail the damage has been done and may never be completely fixed by those who have been a victim of rape, injury or murder. 

Here is a touching story about women in Salt Lake City, the saddest part about this is that these crimes could have been prevented if someone had taught these women how to defend themselves and given them the tools to do so.  That, I hope, will be the purpose of this blog.

http://www.cityweekly.net/utah/article-12420-the-faces-of-rape.html?current_page=3

This shouldn't happen to you.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mr WordPress
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 04:54:54

    Let the comments begin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

